Day 10 of 21 Days of Deep

Scripture:  Luke 15:3-7

So Jesus told them this story: “If a man has a hundred sheep and one of them gets lost, what will he do? Won’t he leave the ninety-nine others in the wilderness and go to search for the one that is lost until he finds it? And when he has found it, he will joyfully carry it home on his shoulders. When he arrives, he will call together his friends and neighbors, saying, ‘Rejoice with me because I have found my lost sheep.’ In the same way, there is more joy in heaven over one lost sinner who repents and returns to God than over ninety-nine others who are righteous and haven’t strayed away!

Observation: Jesus, who is the Good Shepherd, is talking about what a shepherd does when just one sheep goes missing. The Shepherd leaves the ninety-nine to search for that one lost sheep. And when he finds the one, he throws a huge party. It’s how Jesus searches for us. When a lost one is found, a huge party happens in Heaven.

Application: This shows how much God loves us. I need to realize how much I matter to God. If I matter and am loved by the creator of the universe, I need to love myself and see my worth. I also need to help bring lost souls to Christ.

Prayer: God, I pray that I can see me the way You see me. I also pray that I can recognize opportunities to share the Gospel. Thank You for loving me the way You do. In Your Heavenly Name, Amen

Leave a comment