The Return yet again of The Chosen One; 1 Kings 19:14-21

Scripture: 1 Kings 19:19-21

 19 So he departed from there and found Elisha the son of Shaphat, who was plowing with twelve yoke of oxen in front of him, and he was with the twelfth. Elijah passed by him and cast his cloak upon him.  20 And he left the oxen and ran after Elijah and said, “Let me kiss my father and my mother, and then I will follow you.” And he said to him, “Go back again, for what have I done to you?”  21 And he returned from following him and took the yoke of oxen and sacrificed them and boiled their flesh with the yokes of the oxen and gave it to the people, and they ate. Then he arose and went after Elijah and assisted him.

Observation: What is happening here is, it is close to the end of Elijah’s reign as Prophet of Israel. So God sent him on a journey to anoint his replacement. He found a man named Elisha. How crazy would it be if a prophet of the Lord came up to you and said “You’re my replacement.” I know for a fact if Mike came up to me and said “You’re going to replace me as Pastor at Catalyst.” I know for a fact I would laugh and say “no way.” But that wasn’t Elisha’s response. He immediately followed ad even made it practically impossible to return to his old life.

Application:  In theory, this is very easy to apply to my life. The God who created this universe and knows whats best for me says to go do something, you just go do it. Simple right? No. “What if I fail?” “What would he/she think?” “I can’t do that.” Theres someone better.” are some things that easily come to mind.

Every week that I have to teach in kids scares me to death. I’m not a good teacher. These kids learning anything on the weeks I teach are all because of God. I take no credit in that. And that is a big part of what held me back from teaching before. That and the lack of bodies in the production team. I was able to take that step a year ago and its been amazing.

But there is still so much I hold back on. And thats stuff I really need to step up on. This post is the first step in that. My goal is to do this 13 day reading plan in 13 days. That alone would be huge in taking the right steps to accomplish more in my life for both God and myself.

Prayer: God, I pray that I can start to really put You first. I pray that I can really stick to this reading plan. I pray that nothing will hold me back from accomplishing my goal. Thank You for being there for me despite me not always being there for You. I hope to change that. In Your heavenly name, Amen

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.